HOW I BECAME A HARRY POTTER FAN

Ever since I was young I was a big book-worm, every night you would find me hypnotised by a book.  As I grew up I didn’t read as often as I had too many distractions during the day but during the night I used to lose track of time reading until I fall asleep with the book in my hands.  Harry Potter has always been a book my friends had recommended to me but I never really liked the idea as I thought it was going to be a story full of dragons and swords only and not what it actually is.

This was all until I became good friends with a girl called Becky (Becky with the good hair haha jk jk).  Now Becky is a big Harry Potter fan and she told me so many times to start reading the books and one day I decided to go to the school library and borrowed Harry Potter and the Philosophers stone  (Interesting Fact: the british version of Harry Potter’s first book is called Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone whilst the American version is called Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone).  My problem is that I often judge a book by its cover and I didn’t particularly like the cover of the book I borrowed.meh

Another reason I didn’t particularly enjoy the book is because as I hadn’t watched the movies, I didn’t know who acted which character so I couldn’t imagine the story happening with those characters (if that makes any sense at all). So, I decided to return the book and say I didn’t like Harry Potter because as we all know you either love it or hate it, there is no mid-way. Anyways, time passed by and one day during my Christmas holidays I felt really bored and had nothing to do so, I decided to check what movies I can watch and I came across Harry Potter so I told myself ” I mean, it’s better than doing nothing and stare at the wall all night isn’t it?” so I downloaded the movie and prepared t watch it. As I began watching it I instantly fell in love with it and before you know it I saw all 7 movies in less than a week’s time.

As I finished all the movies I never really felt the need to read the books to be completely honest but Becky told me that the books are way better than the actual movies and I told her that one day I might try read the first one.  It was that time of the year where you have to travel all around the city buying books for the upcoming school year and I was waiting for the salesperson to get the books I ordered when I layed eyes on an edition of the book that I actually liked the cover of and decided to buy it.

images

It was much better now that I had seen all the movies already and know who is who more clearly and in my opinion, anyone who still hasn’t gone into the world of Harry Potter yet should watch the movie before reading any of the books as all you are going to do by reading the books before is confuse yourself. Another reason why I would always recommend watching the moves before is the fact that the book is always way better than the movie and in my opinion if you watch the movie first and then read the book, you will say ” Oh, the book is so much better than the film I love it even more now” whilst if you read the book first, when you watch the movie all you’re going to be is disappointed on how different and less detailed the movie was.

Anyways, to conclude thanks to my good friend Becky I am now a huge fan of HP and have no regrets at all and I HIGHLY recommend the series to everyone as up until now I haven’t read any collection of books this good.  If you enjoyed this blog post please make sure to give it a thumbs up and comment down below what you would like to see next 🙂

P.S. In the future I’ll write a book review for each of the books as this was just a post on why I like it so much really. I will leave al the links down below where you can buy all the books for yourselves and if you’d like to read my last blog post click on the link below 😉. Thanks for reading and make sure to follow me if you still haven’t so you’d know when I post my next blog post 😊!

https://wordpress.com/post/mclusblog.wordpress.com/19

-MclusBlog

One Reply to “HOW I BECAME A HARRY POTTER FAN”

Leave a Reply

